top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKari deBoer

Our Monthly Get Away


In January, I told you guys about our goal this year, which is to go somewhere and explore at least once a month. It can be somewhere new, or somewhere we have been before. It goes along with my goal of regardless of the weird times we live in attempting to keep Elias's childhood as "normal" as possible. Last month we went to Cannon Beach, Oregon. This trip has been a yearly trip for Eelke and I. And its just a great place to get away to and catch a break.

We stay at the same hotel every time we visit Cannon Beach, the Hallmark. Its clean, and really inviting. They have movies and board games you can rent from the office. They are right on the beach with direct access. Have a pool, and spa. Its all within walking distance of the little strip that has food, coffee, and shopping. With covid this year they had you make reservations for the pool. I honestly liked this better so we could have the pool to ourselves and play with our little guy. It was his first time "swimming" and he had a blast!

We woke early every morning so we would head out to explore. My one complaint is that things don't open early enough for us. They opened around 11. But what was open was my favorite coffee shop to go to while in town, Insomnia Coffee. I bought a bag of their house made Chai tea to bring back with me. Highly recommend stopping there! Its a cute little space too just around the corner from a great view point of the beach.

We did a little shopping and made reservations for dinner at our favorite place to eat. We have tried many many places while visiting and the Driftwood is hands-down our favorite place to eat. It is a little pricey but I have never had a better steak, or better salmon. Eelke and I were both raving about how great dinner was for the rest of the night. I don't think we will ever go somewhere else for dinner while in town again!

Even though we didnt spend to much time on the beach, we did have to get a picture of Elias in the same spot as the year before. Our little man is growing so fast. Such a fun thing to see. He was a champ during vacation and I cant wait to do more exploring this summer!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page