top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKari deBoer

Mom’s Teriyaki

My sister is in town for a few days, and you know how everyone has meals that are just better when mom makes them? That’s teriyaki chicken for me and my sister. Our mom used to make teriyaki chicken like no one else. I’ve tried over and over again to get it like hers and fail time and time again. This is the closest recipe I’ve found to our moms. Its easy, and so good!

 

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

  • 1 tablespoon cold water

  • ½ cup white sugar

  • ½ cup soy sauce (I use gluten free)

  • ¼ cup cider vinegar

  • 1 clove garlic, minced

  • ½ teaspoon ground ginger

  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper

  • 12 skinless chicken thighs (I prefer boneless but either work)

We serve it over rice, with steamed veggies. Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425.

  2. In a saucepan over medium low heat, combine the cornstarch, cold water, sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, ginger and ground black pepper. Let simmer, stirring frequently, until sauce thickens and bubbles.

  3. Once sauce thickens, place chicken in greased pan. Pour sauce over chicken and brush sauce on all sides. \

  4. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes. Brush with sauce every 15 minutes while baking. Turn chicken over and bake for another 30 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear.

  5. Plate chicken over rice and steamed veggies. Enjoy!

[I tripled the recipe here]

 

If you try it out, let me know what you think!











38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page