top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKari deBoer

From Trash To Treasure

One of my favorite hobbies is taking someone’s trash and making it beautiful again. I love finding pieces of old furniture that people think are a lost cause and making it beautiful again, or better than ever! I have a few projects that I have had a hard time of letting go afterwards (I would do this is as side hustle before baby). I thought it would be fun to look back on a few of my favorite projects from the past!

 

This was one of my favorite! The lady I picked it up from called it a potato table because it’s odd shape. I painted it white with a light distressed look. Stained the top and added cute new hardware. She went home with a really sweet elderly couple that bought it at our barn sale. They said they have “the perfect place for it”.

 

The phone table was my first project after having Elias. And it’s actually been one we kept. I wouldn’t consider it my go to style but my husband really liked it and made a comment “we should keep that one” so she stayed (for now). The gal I grabbed this one from had started attempting to refinish it herself. So she started stripping the paint off. I still had to strip the rest, sand, paint, stain, and seal it. And I recovered the seat with fabric I had from another project. I think it came together really well. Lots of character. And a good conversation piece.

 

The little desk was my very first furniture project-ever! My best friend and I just decided to open a little shop in our home town and sell furniture and home décor. I miss it so much! I hope to do it again one day, but you know.. life has its own plan. We shall see where it takes us. On this piece I painted layers and used a fun crazing technique. Sealed it, and added hardware. It was so cute! I was really happy with it.

 

If you like these I have a few others I’ll share. Now if I could get to the pile of furniture I’ve been hoarding in my garage I bet my husband would love to have his space back!









42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page